Tripdash Team
August 14, 2026
An agent rate is a supplier discount for a travel agent's own travel. See what Hilton, Hyatt, IHG, Marriott, Wyndham and Explora publish, and who qualifies.

An agent rate is a discounted price a supplier offers travel agents for their own travel, not for clients. IHG publishes up to 25% off personal stays, and Wyndham 40% off. To qualify, you usually need an accredited agency number, and an agent ID card at check-in.
Here is how agent rates work, who qualifies, what five hotel chains and one cruise line publish, a worked example, and how an agent rate differs from a FAM rate.
An agent rate is a supplier's thank-you and sales tool in one. Marriott describes its Travel Agent rate as a discount for all active accredited travel agents so they can experience its brands. IHG offers up to 25% off your personal stays through its agent portal.
It is for you, the advisor. Hilton's offer is valid for Travel Agent personal travel only. Wyndham says the agent must be a registered guest on the reservation.
An agent rate is not a client price. For the prices you sell to clients, see what is a net rate and what is a markup in travel.
The pattern is the same at most suppliers:
Each row comes from the chain's own public page, read October 21, 2026 (Hyatt from an archived copy).
| Chain | Published discount | Who qualifies | ID at check-in | Room limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hilton | 50% off at newly opened hotels, up to 25% elsewhere | Travel agents, personal travel only | A valid IATAN photo ID. Agents outside the US without one show valid photo ID | Two rooms per agent per stay |
| Hyatt | Up to 50% off the standard rate for eligible stays | Not stated on the public page | Not stated on the public page | Not stated on the public page |
| IHG | Up to 25% off personal stays | IHG One Rewards members who register an IATA, TIDS, TRUE, ARC or CLIA number | Not stated on the public page | Not stated on the public page |
| Marriott | Not published. The rate is yieldable and subject to availability | Active accredited agents (IATA, ARC, CLIA or TIDS) | US: IATA/IATAN or CLIA EMBARC photo ID card. Outside the US: photo ID plus a business card or agency letter | Not stated for this rate |
| Wyndham | 40% off the Standard Rate | Accredited travel advisors who complete Wyndham Wise | A valid IATA, CLIA, TRUE or ARC card | Two rooms per night |
Hilton also sets lead times: book at least 7 days ahead, for up to 7 nights, at existing hotels. "Up to" means the ceiling, not the typical discount.
Agent rates differ most by supplier type. Hotels publish the most. Cruise lines publish less, and the rules are stricter.
Cruise lines. Explora Journeys is one line that posts its full Travel Advisor Fares terms publicly. You must be a full-time Travel Advisor with a recognized agency for a minimum of six (6) months. You also register on its advisor site, complete its training modules, and get approval from your agency owner and the line's sales leader. Its other rules:
Most other cruise lines keep their agent-fare rules inside their trade portals. Check your line's portal before you quote dates to your family.
Airlines and tour operators. We found no airline or tour operator that publishes agent-fare rules on a public page. Ask your host or the supplier's sales manager.
This is illustrative arithmetic. The percentages come from the suppliers' pages above. The prices are made up.
Hotel. Say a Wyndham hotel's Standard Rate is $200 a night. At 40% off the Standard Rate, you pay $120. Over 3 nights that is $360 instead of $600, a $240 saving before taxes. The 40% applies to the Standard Rate, so compare it with any sale price the hotel shows that day.
Cruise. Say an Explora agent fare is $3,000 per person, double occupancy. Two of you pay $6,000. Sail alone and you pay $4,500, because single occupancy is 150% of the offered double occupancy fare.
What you don't earn. Neither booking pays commission. The value is the lower price and what you learn on the stay.
Two things decide it: your agency's number and your own credential.
The agency number is easy if you work under a host. The personal card is harder. IATAN links its ID card to supplier rates and discount programs. To get one in the US, you must work at an agency with a valid IATA code, at least 20 hours a week in travel sales. You also need at least USD 5,000 in salary or commission in the past 12 months, and you must be 18 or older. It costs $48 for a new card and $40 to renew digital-only.
The CLIA card (EMBARC ID) lists personal travel recognition among its benefits. As of October 2026, CLIA says enrollment remains closed.
They overlap, but suppliers often run them as separate programs. Marriott is a clear example.
| Marriott Travel Agent rate | Marriott Fam-Tastic rate | |
|---|---|---|
| Who | All active accredited travel agents | Agents who completed Hotel Excellence training and its continuing education |
| Purpose | A discount to experience the brands | Familiarization, to better recommend hotels to customers |
| Use | Agent bookings, subject to availability | Exclusively for your use, not family, friends or clients |
| No matching ID | Not stated | Charged the lowest rate available to the general public for each night |
For FAM trips more broadly, see what is a FAM trip.
The IRS doesn't address supplier agent rates by name. This is general information, not tax advice.
IRS Publication 15-B covers discounts an employer gives its own staff. It limits tax-free discounts on services to 20% of the price you charge nonemployee customers (2026 edition). A hotel chain is usually not your employer, so that rule may not fit an advisor's agent rate. Ask a tax professional how it applies to you, as with FAM trips.
An agent rate is the cheapest way to know a hotel before you sell it. A rate is a perk. A stay is research.
Practical guidance:
Tripdash for Advisors includes IATA accreditation, E&O insurance, and supplier access. See how Tripdash works for advisors.

How long it takes to become a travel agent on 4 paths: employee, hosted, IATAN or ARC, with sourced training, state, IATAN and ARC processing times and a 90-day plan.

A CRM for travel agents tracks the trip as well as the sale: ID-matched names, passport expiry, KTN and Redress numbers, supplier confirmations, payments and commission.

Seven worked bookings, from hotels and cruises to flights and net rates, show how commission, host splits and fees turn a trip price into a travel agent's pay.